Machine Head New Album Bloodstone & Diamonds Details Revealed

Details of one of the most anticipated releases of the year for metal in 2014 are finally here. Machine Head have confirmed a glut of details for their new album including name, artwork and track listing. The new Machine Head album will carry the title of Bloodstone & Diamonds and was produced by Robb Flynn himself along with Juan Urteaga. Machine Head's long time legendary mixmaster Colin Richardson was once again employed by the band to work his magic on Bloodstone & Diamonds while fellow metal producer of the gods Andy Sneap also had a hand in editing and mixing along with Steve Lagud.
Machine Head's charismatic frontman Robb Flynn has been waxing lyrical about how good he thinks the new album is:
“I cannot even begin to tell you how proud we are of this album, It's been a heck of a ride. It looked like it might not ever happen again at one point, but man, this album is a milestone for us. You're going to love it HeadCases!  
“Without getting too philosophical on ya, bloodstone and diamonds represent two of the hardest materials on earth, it is also a lyric from the opening track of the album ‘Now We Die’.  In many cultures the bloodstone has been used as an amulet to protect against evil, and is the symbol of justice.  Diamonds and are hardest natural material on earth (which is how we feel about our music), and it also represents the diamond logo I drew 22 years ago (in my wife's apartment on Dover St. in Oakland) that has become the symbol for the band.”
Robb has also been discussing some of the details used in the creation of the album, from some of the guests appearing on Bloodstone & Diamonds to the different versions such as the deluxe 48 page media book edition:
“Guest musicians include two different string quartets featuring the original Quartet Rouge that appeared on our last album, 'Unto The Locust', and a new all-male quartet which we featured on the song ‘In Comes The Flood’.  String arrangements for two of the songs ‘Now We Die’ and ‘Sail Into The Black’ came courtesy of myself and Rhys Fulber who has worked with everyone from Sarah McLachlan, to FEAR FACTORY, and the string arrangement for ‘In Comes The Flood’ came courtesy of myself and ex-WORSHIP and current-BRING ME THE HORIZON keyboardist Jordan Fish, who is a producer in his own right.”
“We worked with several artists to complete the 28 page (!) ‘standard’ CD booklet, as well as the 48 page (!) hardcover leather-bound media-book that will serve as the special edition, including Rafal Wechterowicz, Marcelo Vasco, and long-time MACHINE HEAD art-collaborator Strephon Taylor. The theme was to have both CD and hardcover mediabook look like an old Alchemy book from the 1800's, with weathered edges, sepia toned pages, and magic / masonic / alchemy themed woodcarvings throughout.”
Bloodstone & Diamonds full track listing can be seen below:
1. Now We Die
2. Killers & Kings
3. Ghosts Will Haunt My Bones
4. Night Of Long Knives
5. Sail Into The Black
6. Eyes Of The Dead
7. Beneath The Silt
8. In Comes The Flood
9. Damage Inside
10. Game Over
11. Imaginal Cells (instrumental)
12. Take Me Through The Fire
The content of the album is summed up simply by Robb Flynn as:
“10 songs, an interlude, and an instrumental with an audio collage of spoken word snippets (think ‘Real Eyes, Realize, Real Lies’) by Dr. Bruce Lipton and Steve Bhaerman, taken from their (incredibly inspiring) audiobook, Spontaneous Evolution.”
The main artwork can be seen at the top of this post, and the image for the deluxe mediabook edition can be seen below:
Machine Head MediaBook
Machine Head recently announced details of a huge UK tour for the end of 2014 which you can read about on our announcement right here from yesterday. Any further updates from the Machine Head camp will be brought to our readers as we get closer to the release of Bloodstone & Diamonds! 
Everything Else: 

Scribbled by:

Nik works in music PR, he wanted to be famous but genetics determined a managerial route instead. He put his energy into working out how to design stuff, build web stuff and string a decent series of words together. He is a big fan of original and unique sounding bands, loving a good melody and anthem - although he has been known to listen to 90s glam rock in private.