Pelican Announce "Forever Becoming" - First New Album In Four Years

Instrumental quartet Pelican has announced that they are to release their first album in four years in October via Southern Lord.

After a four year hiatus that saw founding guitarist Laurent Schroeder-Lebec depart and second guitarist Dallas Thomas arrive the new album is a body of work from a wholly revitalised unit that sound more focused and assured. The band have gotten themselves ready and more cohesive as a unit by playing live in front of festival crowds at events like Bonaroo, Roadburn and Maryland Death Fest as well as a handful of headlining club shows.

The album was recorded with Chris Common who engineered the groups last album and also has production credits for Chelsea Wolfe and These Arms Are Snakes. The album has been described as having a "Sonic palette that veers from pummeling metal to contemplative ambience to melodic catharsis all with landmark grace"  

The album's track list is:

  1. Terminal
  2. Deny the Absolute
  3. The Tundra
  4. Immutable Dusk
  5. Threnody
  6. The Cliff
  7. Vestiges
  8. Perpetual Dawn

The street date for the album is October 18th.

Check the track Immutable Dusk from the upcoming 8 track album Forever Becoming here -

Check out Pelican on the web at:

Scribbled by:

Nik works in music PR, he wanted to be famous but genetics determined a managerial route instead. He put his energy into working out how to design stuff, build web stuff and string a decent series of words together. He is a big fan of original and unique sounding bands, loving a good melody and anthem - although he has been known to listen to 90s glam rock in private.