Rob Zombie - Mondo Sex Head

Band Name: 
Release Date: 
Releasing Label: 

Just out and hot on the heels of announcing a mega tour co-headlining with Marilyn Manson, Rob Zombie has released Mondo Sex Head, a collection of remixed material. Albums like this can have a tendency to be a bit of a sellout, but Zombie has managed to pull off an interesting blend that adds a new dimension to his collection.

A quote from Rob Zombies Facebook account:

I have about one more week of recording left before we start mixing the new record. Yes, this all new material and I can easily say it is the best record yet. A perfect combo of what once was and what now is. Very different from anything I have done in a long time.
Track Listing

01. White Zombie – Thunder Kiss ’65 (JDevil Number Of The Beast Remix)

02. Living Dead Girl (Photek Remix)

03. Let It All Bleed Out (Document One Remix)

04. Foxy Foxy (Ki:Theory Remix)

05. White Zombie – More Human Than Human (Big Black Delta Remix)

06. Dragula (††† Remix)

07. Pussy Liquor (Ki:Theory Remix

08. Lords of Salem (Das Kaptial)

09. Never Gonna Stop (Drumcorps Acid Remix)

10. Superbeast (Kraddy Remix)

11. Devil’s Hole Girls (Tobias Enhus Remix ft. The Jane Cornish String Quartet)

12. Burn (The Bloody Beetroots Motherfucker Remix)

13. Mars Needs Women (Griffin Boice Remix)

Now.. if the new album is something totally fresh then I can't wait to hear what he calls Mondo Sex Head. Granted this release is not original work in the truest sense of the word, but after a few listens I can say it's very different from anything I have heard coming from Mr Zombie.

If you are expecting something along the line of 1999 American Made Music To Strip By then boy are you in for a surprise.  Mondo Sex Head is, for the most part a more cerebral effort than his previous remix album. The majority of the tracks lean more to an Ambient bent than I would have initially expected. In places the vocal line from Zombies original track seems to jar and stand out a little too far from the overall track. One of most obvious tracks for this is "Dragula (††† Remix)". It's one of Zombie most used tracks and whilst this is an original and subdued remix the vocals just stand out a little to the left.

For me the stand out track of the album is “Pussy Liquor” (Ki:Theory Remix). This is definitely NOT the track to play on the school run if you don't want your kids stood outside the Headmasters office for singing it in Assembly. The original  track is from the Soundtrack to The House of 1000 Corpses Rob zombies feature film directorial début. Ki:Theory has another track on the album Foxy Foxy from the Educated Horses album, again, it's a solid remix that adds to the ambient feeling that runs through the album.

I am unsure how much input Rob Zombie had on how the tracks were developed but with very few exceptions he has a solid album that takes a journey through his back catalogue and presents it in a totally fresh way that could open up seasoned listeners to something a little different whilst offering an inroad to Zombies oeuvre for others coming in the opposite direction.

Similar Artists: 

Scribbled by:

Paul always wanted to be a rock star but his fingers were to short to play guitar and he couldn't get his hands and feet quite coordinated enough to be a drummer. No one wanted to hear him sing so now he writes about things he only wishes he could do.